Go Daddy… GO GIRL!

19 Feb

Danica Patrick wins the Daytona 500 Coors Light Pole

I have been so busy, but SO eager to blog about this: Danica Patrick won the Coors Light Pole for the Daytona 500! What does this mean for all my  non-NASCAR readers? Danica Patrick will start at the front of the pack (inside lane) on Sunday, February 24th, 2013 for the biggest race of the year, the Daytona 500. Along side her in the #2 qualifying spot is Jeff Gordon.

Why is this huge news? It is the first time in history that a woman has won a pole in a premier racing circuit, at a top speed of 196.434 mph. This is big news for Danica and the Go Daddy team, but the headlines and the exposure are also great for the sport. I cannot tell you how many of my Elon friends (who do not follow NASCAR) approached me and wanted to talk about Danica’s pole win.

More Danica news coverage = Increased advertising and friendly reminders for people to watch the race this Sunday!

I would say that I have a similar body type to Danica. I am 5 feet and 3 inches tall, weighing in at approximately 115 pounds. I like to run and weight lift regularly, but by no means am I training for a Sprint Cup race. Danica’s “secret to success” just might be in her workout. She has really been focussed on developing her upper body strength, like a linebacker, to stay upright during the turns. Holding the steering wheel is like holding a medicine ball for 3 hours, and a driver can lose up to 7 pounds during a race because of the sauna-like conditions. Impressive.

Danica #10, Jeff #24, or Aric #43 (to name a few), their workouts are impressive. For anyone who thinks NASCAR is not a sport, reconsider. Watch this video! You might change your mind.

On that note, I think I am going to the gym. Happy Racing!

Sources: Danica Wins Daytona Pole

Leave a Reply

